Caleb Mills House
Caleb Mills House is named for Caleb Mills. Mills was the first professor at Wabash and is in large measure responsible for the status of Wabash as an independent college. He also is considered the father of the public school system in Indiana. In 1836, Mills built this house, where he lived for 43 years. The house was privately owned until 1926, when it was deeded to the College and briefly became the President's home and later the home of several directors of development. After renovation in 1993, it now serves as a small guest house and entertainment site for many campus visitors.
The first floor of the house is primarily used for small gatherings and meetings. There is a large living room furnished with Victorian furniture, a grand piano, and a marble rimmed fireplace. Immediately adjacent to the living room is a dining room that overlooks the back porch through beautiful French doors. The dining room comfortably seats 12 people. Its charm and style is warm and welcoming.
On the second floor there are two guest suites, each with its own bath/shower. The Caleb Mills bedroom, with a view of the campus mall, features two queen-sized beds. The Frank Hugh Sparks bedroom, with a large couch, rocking chair, and nostalgic fireplace features one queen-sized bed.
Guests have full access downstairs including the kitchen where there is a refrigerator holding cold drinks and a small coffee pot.
Some other amenities include:
- Clock Radio
- Hair Dryer
- Iron and Ironing Board
- Wireless Internet